Emery County School District | Board of Education

President Laurel Johansen Vice-President Royd Hatt Member Marie Johnson Member Sam Singleton Member Nanette Tanner

The August 2013 meeting of the Emery County School District Board of Education, held at the School District office, was called to order at 7:00 PM by Board President Laurel Johansen. Other Board members present were Vice-President Royd Hatt, Marie Johnson, Sam Singleton and Nanette Tanner. Superintendent Kirk Sitterud was also present as was Business Administrator Jared Black. Mrs. Johansen welcomed all in attendance and led the audience in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Hearing: A motion was made by Royd Hatt and seconded by Sam Singleton to adjourn to a Truth in Taxation public hearing for input on the proposed adoption of final tax rates for Tax Year 2013. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Black explained the proposed tax rates, emphasizing that with the exception of the judgment levy, all rates are equal to or lower than prior year rates. The judgment levy of .000203 will generate \$400,298 in revenues which will be used to pay a judgment awarded to PacifiCorp. No other comments were made about the proposed tax rates.

Marie Johnson made a motion to reconvene to general meeting, seconded by Royd Hatt. The motion passed unanimously.

Board Action Item (C1): Upon reconvening, a motion was made by Royd Hatt and seconded by Marie Johnson to adopt the following tax rates for tax year 2013:

Basic School Levy	.001535
Board Local Levy	.001821
Voted Local Levy	.001598
Capital Local Levy	.000699
Judgment Levy	.000203

TOTAL .005856

The motion passed unanimously.

Board Action Item (C2): Members of the Board considered the warrants, minutes for the July 2013 Board meeting and financial reports for July 2013. A motion was made by Sam Singleton to approve the warrants, minutes and financial reports as presented. Nanette Tanner seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Board Action Item (C3): Mr. Sitterud recommended to the Board that the following individuals be approved for the positions indicated:

Jason Passey:	Teacher: Science	San Rafael Junior High
Marcia Farnesworth:	Custodian: 4 hours / day	Canyon View Junior High
Marie Greenan:	Custodian: 4 hours / day	Canyon View Junior High
Dustin Service:	Head Custodian	Huntington Elementary
Mikelle Singleton:	Landtrust Aide: 3 hours / day	San Rafael Junior High
Anita Bennion:	Landtrust Aide: 3 hours / day	San Rafael Junior High
Amanda Bjarnson:	Preschool Aide: 2 hours / day	Transportation

Board Meeting Minutes | August 14, 2013

Emery County School District | Board of Education

President Laurel Johansen Vice-President Royd Hatt Member Marie Johnson Member Sam Singleton Member Nanette Tanner

Brandi Tuttle: Preschool Aide: 3 hours / day Ferron Elementary
Bart Cox: Substitute Bus Driver Transportation
Kari Ewell: Assistant Drill Advisor / Volunteer Emery High
Coaches: Listed in Coaching Schedule District-Wide

Sam Singleton motioned to approve the hiring recommendations as presented. Nanette Tanner seconded the motion and it passed unanimously. All approvals are subject to the completion and review of a background check.

Board Action Item (C4): Superintendent Sitterud presented the following policy action to the Board for approval:

GDCA/GCCA -Absence From Work—Non Benefitted Employees: Mr. Sitterud explained that this new
policy clarifies how the District will handle absences from work for at-will employees hired after July 1,
2013, who will not have leave benefits.

Marie Johnson made a motion to approve the new policy as presented. Sam Singleton seconded the motion and it passed by unanimous vote.

Board Action Item (C5): Mr. Black explained the annual Asbestos Containing Materials notification procedures and read the annual notification which has also been printed in the Emery County Progress.

Report Item (C1): Mr. Black had nothing additional to report on.

Report Item (C2): Superintendent Sitterud informed members of the Board that the District has received letters of retirement or resignation from three employees: Dixie Allred, Ken Crowson and Loni Meadows. He expressed his thanks to each of these employees for their service to the District. He then discussed the agenda for the upcoming Opening Institute and Benefits Fair.

Public Comments: No public comments were made.

At 7:35 pm, a motion was made Marie Johnson and seconded by Royd Hatt to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 7:35 PM.